Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation

Homecoming Royalty

A tradition at Illinois State highlights the past, present, and future of Illinois State generations through the selection of Homecoming Royalty. Our very own royal family for Homecoming week will be selected to reign over a variety of Homecoming events.

Student Homecoming Court

King finalists

  • Sam Peters

    Sam Peters

    Year in School: Senior

    Major: Business Teacher Education

    Involvement: Pi Omega Pi - National Business Education Teacher Honor Society President, Illinois State Cheerleader, Hewett Hall Resident Assistant, COBEC Board Member
  • Eric Lempa

    Eric Lempa

    Year in School: Senior

    Major: Organizational Communication and Leadership

    Involvement: Students Today Leaders Forever Chapter Core, Ultimate Disc Club Vice President, Leadership and Service Unit Front Desk Staff, Welcome Week Intern, Emerging Leaders Program Mentor, Leaders of Social Change participant, Leadership and Service Floor, Holiday Helper, and ISULeads through the Leadership and Service Unit.
  • Andres Rivera-Thompson

    Andrés Rivera-Thompson

    Year: Senior

    Major: University Studies focus in History

    Involvement: The Black & Latino Male Movement Vice President, My Brother’s Keeper Public Relations, Student Alumni Council, Campus Recreation employee
  • Jason Swift

    Jason Swift

    Year: Junior

    Major: Computer Information Systems

    Involvement: Delta Chi President, Student Government Executive Director, Lead Preview Guide, Volunteer University Hearing Panel Member for Community Rights and Responsibilities Office
  • Connor Bowman

    Connor Bowman

    Year: Junior

    Major: Music Education

    Involvement: Preview Guide, Big Red Marching Machine Section Leader, Symphonic Band Section Leader, Tau Beta Sigma Treasurer, National Association for Music Education Treasurer

Queen finalists

  • Daniela Lerma

    Daniela Lerma

    Year: Senior

    Major: Organizational Communication and Leadership

    Minor: Civic Engagement and Responsibility

    Involvement: University College Academic Peer Advisor, Student Specialist of Leadership and Service, University Scholar, ISULeads, Lead Preview Guide, Campaign Ambassador of Forever Redbirds.
  • Ashley Torri

    Ashley Torri

    Year: Senior

    Major: Human Resource Management, Minor in International Business

    Involvement: Society for Human Resource Management- President, Honors Program- Undergraduate Assistant and Honors Peer Mentor, Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity- VP of Fundraising and VP of Community Service, Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority, Business Week- Mentor Program Coordinator, Beta Gamma Sigma Honors Society, Leadership and Service- Peer Leadership Team, Illinois State University Cheerleading
  • Maureen Christensen

    Maureen Christensen

    Year: Junior

    Major: Broadcast Journalism and Marketing

    Involvement: Student Body Vice President, WZND Radio General Manager, Emerging Leader Program Coordinator, TV-10 Reporter, Alternative Spring Break Trip Leader, Honors Program, Senior Professionals Mentoring Program, ISU Leads, Town of Normal Human Relations Commissioner
  • Jen Jaroch

    Jen Jaroch

    Year: Senior

    Major: Mathematics Teacher Education (Spanish Minor, Middle Level Endorsement)

    Involvement: Campus Involvement Ambassadors President and Founder, Student Education Association (Previously President), Illinois Education Association Student Program Vice Chairperson (Previously Secretary/Treasurer), National Education Association Resolutions Committee Member, Encounter Greet Squad Leader, Resident Assistant—All Girl Honors Floor, Admissions Ambassador, Honors Program, Bone Scholar, ISULeads Certification Program, Alternative Spring Break Participant
  • Mariaton Tate

    Mariaton Tate

    Year: Senior

    Major: Family & Consumer Science, Human Development & Family Resources

    Involvement: Elogeme Adolphi Christian Sorority Inc., LiNC Peer Instructor, Dean of Students Office

Past Alumni Royalty

  • 2013: Andrew Purnell ’57 and Lois Young ’60
  • 2012: Roger ’62, M.A. ’65 and Elaine ’58 Cushman
  • 2011: Melba Jean (Zehr)’48, M.S. ’73, and Howard Frink ’50
  • 2010: Jack ’51 and Betty ’52 Capodice
  • 2009: Bob ’37, M.S. ’42 and Verda (Stahly) Maurer ’38
  • 2008: Joe ’49, M.S ‘50 and Audrey (Brust) ’49 Naffziger
  • 2007: Jean (Lindberg) ’54 and Darwin Hany ’53
  • 2006: Clark ’42 and Mary (Morgan) Waldmier
  • 2005: Roy Schilling ’35, B.S. ’40 and Ruthelma (Wankel) Benjamin ’46
  • 2004: Bufford “Duffy” Bass ’50, M.S.E. ’51 and Helen (Matone) Bass ’47, B.S. ’48
  • 2003: Jack Secord ’41 and Dolly (Vance) Secord ’41
  • 2002: Bill Small ’39 and Beverly (Smith) Lindsey ’45
  • 2000: Ross Fairchild ’39 and Maggie Parret ’41
  • 2001: Elston Roady ’42 and Barbara (Elder) Roady ’44

Past Student Royalty

  • 2013: Brian Kulaga (King) and Sarah Bollinger (Queen)
  • 2012: Tyler Sinclair (King) and Jessica Garber (Queen)
  • 2011: Abe Lopez (King) and Danica Taylor (Queen)
  • 2010: Zach Owens (King) and Courtney Wilhelm (Queen)

Past Prince/Princess Royalty

  • 2013: Isaiah Matthews (Prince) and Kennedy Lovell (Princess)
  • 2012: Brayden Jones (Prince) and Shelby Sennett (Princess)
  • 2011: Brady Eckenstahler (Prince) and Anna Kober (Princess)
  • 2010: Alexander Stephens (Prince) and Gabrielle Walker (Princess)
2014-09-29T18:00:30.863-05:00 2014